

DAKSHINA KANNADA DISTRICT WUSHU ASSOCIATION

Office: 604-C, 4th Floor, Kunil Centre, G.H.S. Road, Mangalore-575001 Telephone: 0824-2440036, Mobile: +91 98441 87026

PRESS RELEASE

D.K. District Wushu Association inaugurated.

Wushu which is the martial art and official sport of China has set foot on the soil of Dakshina Kannada district also. Haruka Ito, a Japanese martial arts teacher now staying in Mangalore had introduced this art to Mangalore, three years back, and now she is teaching Wushu and Tai Chi to a number of students in Mangalore. Her disciples include both young and old. Whereas Wushu which is a rigourous sport attracts the youth, the elders and the aged find Tai Chi a better option to keep fit.

Considering the need for an Association to represent this sport in this district, it was

decided form the D.K. District Wushu Association. This association was formally inaugurated on 25th October 2015 at Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Mangalore. Ms Haruka

Ito, Technical Director of the Association inaugurated the Association by lighting the lamp. She explained the gathering the fine points about Wushu. Mr. Praveen Kumar, President of the Association stressed the need to make this art popular in the district. He said that soon a district level training programme as well as a tournament will be planned to create the awareness about this sport.

The office bearers of the association include: Praveen Kumar-President, Vivek Shenoy-General Secretary, Balakrishna Alva-Treasurer. Haruka Ito-Technical Director, Vinod Ullal-Vice President, M.Suresh-Joint Secretary, Satoru Komori-Director P/R, Dinesh Acharya, Bhairavi Rajesh, Srinivasa Rao, Latheesh Kumar and Bangera Swati Jayaram – Ex members.

The D.K. District Wushu Association has sent its team to the recently held State Level Wushu Championship at Bagalkot, in which two members won gold and silver medals. One of them has been selected to represent the Karnataka team in the Senior Nationals to be held in Chandigarh in the last week of December

President Praveen Kumar

General Secretary Vivek Shenoy

Treasurer Balakrishna Alva

Technical Director Haruka Ito

Vice President Vinod Ullal

Joint Secretary M Suresh

Director P/R Satoru Komori

Ex Members Dinesh Acharya

Bhairavi Rajesh Shah

Srinivas Rao

Latheesh Kumar

Bangera Swati Jayaram